MBA Oath

I find this very interesting, if only…. I was talking to my professor on the triple bottom-line of business: profit, people and planet. How development people do not go for my triple bottom-line but use the same things in sustaining development that is environment and I forgot what was said. Oh! I was not listening, I was thinking of the many things that occupies my mind. I was thinking of social responsibility and my next schedule. There is noise in my mind and everywhere I go, I need to stop and really listen…

For now let me share this oath.

THE MBA OATH

As a business leader I recognize my role in society.

My purpose is to lead people and manage resources to create value that no single individual can create alone.

My decisions affect the well-being of individuals inside and outside my enterprise, today and tomorrow.

Therefore, I promise that:

I will manage my enterprise with loyalty and care, and will not advance my personal interests at the expense of my enterprise or society.

I will understand and uphold, in letter and spirit, the laws and contracts governing my conduct and that of my enterprise.

I will refrain from corruption, unfair competition, or business practices harmful to society.

I will protect the human rights and dignity of all people affected by my enterprise, and I will oppose discrimination and exploitation.

I will protect the right of future generations to advance their standard of living and enjoy a healthy planet.

I will report the performance and risks of my enterprise accurately and honestly.

I will invest in developing myself and others, helping the management profession continue to advance and create sustainable and inclusive prosperity.

In exercising my professional duties according to these principles, I recognize that my behavior must set an example of integrity, eliciting trust and esteem from those I serve. I will remain accountable to my peers and to society for my actions and for upholding these standards.

This oath I make freely, and upon my honor.

I only want to hear the rushing of waters in the falls and focus on that noise, not the noise in my mind.

Like when the kids were small, less care in the world, now they have different wants. I miss the times like this.

“Health is the greatest possession. Contentment is the greatest treasure. Confidence is the greatest friend. Non-being is the greatest joy” – Lao Tzu 

Leave a Reply

