Reflections on Abuse of Authority

The Saturday before Valentine’s day, I went to school for whole day class direct from the airport from a 3-day cascading seminar workshop in Cagayan de Oro City. When I arrived home tired and weary, my friend and god mother of my eldest daughter called,  surprised that she wanted to see me. I remembered that I haven’t seen her for almost 14 years and she did not bother to see me when I visited her office at the Bureau of Customs.

I have mixed feelings when I saw her, she arrived at my condo quarters with its bare essentials which I know is not comparable to the lifestyle she expected from me. We reminisce the old days and updated on our lives. She told me her son had diabetes and is now under the care of nurses. It made me sad but also reflect on what and why she is saying this. After, almost refusing to see me when I need her help to arrange the release of cargo which I was illegally held by unscrupulous group in BOC. She invited me to her house which I refused at first since I am very tired and just arrived from out of town trip. anyway, I obliged and accompany her to her home which is quite far. Along the way, we talked about life and our professions. I was amazed at how she has enriched herself, I knew her to be a good person but she has embroiled herself into anomalous if not illegal transactions within the sphere of her authority.

She has a very bad view of my profession but since she know how I lived, I know that she think those are not applicable to me, I had doubts though. When we reached her home, a colossal structure  constructed in 4 lots in a subdivision, I understand how she earned a lot of money not from her salary and allowances but from kickbacks or grease money. I felt sad by my reflection on how she abused her position and authority>

The biggest lesson for me was when I saw her son who was almost skin and bones and could not even talk under the care of  nurses since both parents are working. My reflection is that all those material things and wealth that she had cannot  compensate for the loss of health and suffering of the son. My daughter who was with me said that we only need simple life. Truly, as government officials and employees, we must set examples to others and lead a modest and virtuous life.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on Abuse of Authority

  1. Attractive component of content. I simply stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to say that I get actually loved account your weblog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing for your feeds and even I success you get right of entry to consistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

